As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. That never changes which bolt we recommend.
The best crossbow bolts are the ones that match your crossbow’s required length, nock type and minimum finished weight. Brand comes second. This guide sorts nine Amazon options by the crossbows they fit, so you can buy a hunting set or a practice 12-pack without risking a dry fire or a voided warranty.
The best crossbow bolts at a glance
Each pick solves a different problem, so start with the crossbow you own.
- Best overall (TenPoint, Wicked Ridge, Horton): TenPoint Pro Elite 400, 6-pack
- Best lighted: TenPoint Lighted Pro Elite 400, 3-pack
- Best for Ravin: Ravin R138 .003, 6-pack
- Best starter bundle: LWANO 12 bolts + 6 broadheads
- Best for practice: IRQ 12 bolts + 6 broadheads
- Most broadheads in the box: Yooker 12 bolts + 12 broadheads
- Budget lighted: TOPARCHERY 12 bolts + 6 lighted nocks
- Best aluminum: SAS 20″ aluminum, 6-pack
- Pistol crossbows only: RUOERSISI 6.3″ mini bolts
Who these are for: Students, people who need only basic features, and anyone who wants a cheap laptop to use as a second PC.
Why we liked the Google Pixelbook Go!
Crossbow bolt comparison table
Weights are the figures printed on each listing or manufacturer page. Where a listing leaves a spec out, the cell says so instead of guessing.
| Bolt | In the box | Length | Listed weight | Nock | Straightness |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TenPoint Pro Elite 400 | 6 bolts | 20 in. | 400–410 gr | Alpha-Nock HP | ±.003 in. |
| TenPoint Lighted Pro Elite 400 | 3 bolts | 20 in. | 400–410 gr | Alpha-Blaze lighted | ±.003 in. |
| Ravin R138 | 6 bolts | 20 in. | 400 gr with a 100 gr point | Ravin clip-on | ±.003 in. |
| LWANO | 12 bolts, 6 broadheads | 20 or 22 in. | About 439 gr (20 in.) | Moon | Not stated |
| IRQ | 12 bolts, 6 broadheads | 20 in. | 416 gr | Not stated | ±.006 in. |
| Yooker | 12 bolts, 12 broadheads | 20 or 22 in. | About 440 gr | Moon | Not stated |
| TOPARCHERY | 12 bolts, 6 lighted nocks | 20 in. | 416 gr | Standard plus lighted | Not stated |
| SAS aluminum | 6 bolts | 20 in. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| RUOERSISI mini | 6 bolts | 6.3 in. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
How we chose these bolts
BowsHunting.com has not shot these bolts. Every pick rests on manufacturer specifications, retailer listings and published range tests from outlets that did shoot them, and each claim below names its source.
That limit shaped the method. We read each Amazon listing against the manufacturer’s own page and flagged every place they disagreed. TenPoint’s Pro Elite 400, for example, is sold as a 400-grain bolt in some listings and as 410 grains, give or take 5, in others.
Three questions decided the labels:
- Which crossbows is this bolt approved for?
- Does the listing state length, weight, nock and straightness, or leave you guessing?
- Is it built to hunt with, or to lose in the weeds behind a practice target?
A bolt that answered the first question clearly beat a cheaper bolt that did not.
Which crossbow bolts fit your crossbow?
A crossbow bolt fits when its length, nock type and finished weight all match the owner’s manual. Two of the three is a miss, and the best crossbow bolts for a TenPoint are useless in a Ravin. American Hunter’s “Crossbow Bolts 101” explains why: with the wrong nock, the string can slip past the bolt, and the result is in effect a dry fire that can damage the bow.
Find your crossbow in the left column, then shop only from the right.
| Your crossbow | Nock it needs | Bolts on this list |
|---|---|---|
| TenPoint, Wicked Ridge, Horton | Alpha-Nock | TenPoint Pro Elite 400, TenPoint Lighted Pro Elite 400 |
| Ravin, except the R500 series | Ravin clip-on nock | Ravin R138 |
| Manual calls for a half-moon nock and a 20 or 22 in. bolt | Half-moon | LWANO, Yooker |
| Manual calls for a half-moon nock, 20 in. only | Half-moon | IRQ or TOPARCHERY, once you confirm the nock on the listing |
| Manual calls for a flat or other nock | Flat, capture or proprietary | None confirmed here. Buy the maker’s bolt. |
| Older 120–180 lb crossbow | Check the manual | SAS aluminum |
| 50–60 lb pistol crossbow | Check the manual | RUOERSISI mini |
BowsHunting.com built this table from manufacturer pages and listings because none of the roundups we read has one. It is the part that keeps your crossbow in one piece.
Factory-matched bolts for TenPoint, Wicked Ridge and Ravin
For these three brands, the best crossbow bolts are the ones the factory sells. Each maker fits its own nock, and using anything else puts the warranty at risk.
TenPoint Pro Elite 400 Carbon, 6-pack

Disclaimer: Prices are at time of the review and subject to change.
Bottom line: the safest hunting bolt for a TenPoint, Wicked Ridge or Horton crossbow, and the only pick here backed by an independent range test.
- Length: 20 in.
- Shaft: carbon, with an aluminum insert and bushing
- Listed weight: 400–410 gr
- Nock: Alpha-Nock HP
- Straightness: ±.003 in., hand-sorted to within 2 grains per dozen
- Front of center: 13%
Field & Stream’s Jace Bauserman shot this bolt out to 100 yards from a tripod-mounted crossbow and reported that it was extremely accurate. His review also credits the deep-groove nock with a 28 percent increase in string-to-nock engagement, which is the feature that guards against the string riding over the bolt.
Best for: deer hunters with a compatible crossbow who want one bolt for sight-in and for the season.
Reasons to buy
- Approved by the maker for its own crossbows
- Weight-sorted, so six bolts should group together
- 13% front of center sits inside the 10–15% range Gun University’s guide recommends for hunting
Reasons to consider
- The Alpha-Nock is proprietary. Do not shoot it from another brand unless that manual allows it.
- Listings disagree on weight. Weigh one before you set a speed dial.
TenPoint Lighted Pro Elite 400, 3-pack

Disclaimer: Prices are at time of the review and subject to change.
Bottom line: the same shaft with an LED nock, for hunters who shoot in the last minutes of legal light.
- Length: 20 in.
- Listed weight: 400–410 gr
- Nock: Alpha-Blaze lighted, with about 24 hours of LED life
- Straightness: ±.003 in.
- Points: not included
TenPoint’s product page says the LED runs for about 24 hours and switches off when you pull the nock straight out. The company lists the bolt for most TenPoint and Wicked Ridge crossbows.
Best for: low-light deer stands, and anyone tired of losing bolts in leaf litter.
Reasons to buy
- You can watch the hit and find the bolt afterward
- Factory nock, so there is no guesswork about fit
Reasons to consider
- Three bolts is a hunting quiver, not a practice supply
- Check your state’s hunting regulations. Rules on electronic nocks are set state by state.
Ravin R138 .003, 6-pack

Disclaimer: Prices are at time of the review and subject to change.
Bottom line: if you own a Ravin, buy this and stop shopping.
- Length: 20 in.
- Shaft: 100% carbon with brass threaded inserts
- Weight: 400 gr with a 100 gr field point, which is not included
- Nock: Ravin clip-on polymer nock on an aluminum bushing
- Straightness: ±.003 in. A ±.001 in. version is sold on the same listing.
- Vanes: 2 in., offset
Ravin’s product page says these arrows are for Ravin crossbows only and fit every model except the R500 series. It also warns that shooting non-Ravin arrows can void the warranty or cause damage or injury. That settles the question.
Best for: every Ravin owner outside the R500 line.
Reasons to buy
- The one bolt on this list whose weight is stated without ambiguity
- Brass inserts hold up to repeated broadhead changes
Reasons to consider
- Useless in any other brand
- Field points are a separate purchase
Budget 12-packs, including crossbow bolts with broadheads
Here is our position, and competitors mostly avoid stating it: a generic 12-pack is a practice bolt first. These four listings share one shaft size, 8.8 mm outside diameter, and none publishes a list of approved crossbows.
None of them belongs among the best crossbow bolts for a flagship hunting crossbow, and that is not their job. They still earn a place. You will bend vanes, bury bolts in the dirt and shoot nocks off at 20 yards, and it is better to do that with a bolt that costs a fraction of a factory one. Hunt with them only after you have confirmed the nock, weighed the bolt and shot the exact broadhead you plan to carry.
LWANO 12 bolts + 6 broadheads

Disclaimer: Prices are at time of the review and subject to change.
Bottom line: the most complete starter kit here, and the only bundle sold in both 20 and 22 in.
- Shaft: carbon
- Listed weight: about 439 gr at 20 in., about 455 gr at 22 in.
- Nock: plastic moon nock
- Vanes: 4 in. TPU
- Broadheads: six, 100 gr, with O-rings
The listing does not say whether its weight includes the point. It also gives no straightness figure.
Best for: new owners of a half-moon-nock crossbow who need bolts, points and broadheads in one order.
Reasons to buy
- Two lengths
- Listed weight is comfortably above 400 gr
- Screw-in points, so you can swap in a broadhead you trust
Reasons to consider
- No straightness rating
- Bundled broadheads are unproven. Treat them as practice heads.
IRQ 12 bolts + 6 broadheads

Disclaimer: Prices are at time of the review and subject to change.
Bottom line: the cheapest way to shoot a lot, and honest about its tolerance.
- Length: 20 in.
- Shaft: carbon fiber
- Listed weight: 416 gr
- Straightness: ±.006 in.
- Broadheads: six, 100 gr, three-blade
IRQ is the only budget brand on this list that prints a straightness number, and ±.006 in. is twice the tolerance of the TenPoint and Ravin bolts. Gun University’s buyer’s guide puts the usual range for crossbow bolts at .001 to .006 in., so this sits at the loose end.
Best for: backyard practice inside 30 yards.
Reasons to buy
- Twelve bolts
- Stated tolerance and weight
Reasons to consider
- The nock type is not stated on the listing we could verify. Confirm it before ordering.
- The seller itself tells buyers to inspect each bolt before every shot.
Yooker 12 bolts + 12 broadheads

Disclaimer: Prices are at time of the review and subject to change.
Bottom line: one broadhead for every bolt, which no other bundle here offers.
- Length: 20 or 22 in.
- Shaft: carbon, .300 in. inside diameter
- Listed weight: about 440 gr
- Nock: moon nock
- Broadheads: twelve, 100 gr, three-blade
- Target points: included
Amazon shows this listing under the brand name Yooker or TIT-COYO, depending on the variant. It is the same product.
Best for: shooters who want to practice with broadheads and not just field points.
Reasons to buy
- Enough heads to dedicate a few to practice
- Two lengths and a stated moon nock
Reasons to consider
- No straightness rating
- No list of approved crossbows
TOPARCHERY 12 bolts + 6 lighted nocks

Disclaimer: Prices are at time of the review and subject to change.
Bottom line: the low-cost route to a lighted bolt, if you are willing to fit the nocks yourself.
- Length: 20 in.
- Shaft: carbon fiber
- Listed weight: 416 gr, or 441 gr with the 25 gr lighted nock fitted
- Field points: 125 gr
- Lighted nocks: six, rated for 48 hours or more, switched on and off by hand
The nocks ship loose and the listing says to install them with pliers. That makes this a project. A poorly seated nock is a safety problem, so check each one before it goes on the rail.
Best for: practice in fading light, and seeing where a bolt went.
Reasons to buy
- Twelve bolts and six lights in one box
- Sold in red and in blue
Reasons to consider
- You do the nock installation
- The standard nock type on the bolts is not stated
- No broadheads
Aluminum and pistol-crossbow bolts
The last two picks are for different machines. Most aluminum crossbow bolts sold today suit older, slower crossbows, and a mini bolt is a separate product class altogether.
SAS 20″ aluminum, 6-pack

Disclaimer: Prices are at time of the review and subject to change.
Bottom line: a plain aluminum bolt for a crossbow in the 120–180 lb draw-weight range.
- Shaft: aluminum, 20 in. without the point
- Vanes: plastic
- Field points: included
- Rated for: 120–180 lb crossbows
Southland Archery Supply states the draw-weight range on the listing. It does not state weight or nock type, so match both to your manual before you buy. Field & Stream’s bolt guide notes one real advantage of aluminum: it pulls out of dense foam targets more easily than carbon.
Best for: an older recurve crossbow used for target shooting.
Reasons to buy
- Easy target removal
- Points included
Reasons to consider
- Not for modern high-speed crossbows
- Aluminum bends, and a bent bolt is finished
RUOERSISI 6.3″ mini bolts

Disclaimer: Prices are at time of the review and subject to change.
Bottom line: these fit a 50–60 lb pistol crossbow and nothing else in this guide.
- Length: 6.3 in.
- Shaft: aluminum with a replaceable steel tip
- Pack: 6
- Rated for: 50–60 lb crossbows
A pistol-crossbow bolt is a short aluminum dart that is built for a hand-held crossbow with a far lower draw weight than a hunting model. It will not load in a full-size crossbow. The listing mentions hunting but gives no weight, so we recommend it for target practice only.
Best for: pistol-crossbow owners who need replacement bolts.
What are the best crossbow bolts for deer hunting?
For deer, shoot the bolt length your manual requires, at a finished weight of 400 grains or more, with ±.003 in. straightness or better and a nock your manufacturer approves. From this list that means the TenPoint Pro Elite 400 or the Ravin R138, depending on your crossbow.
Field & Stream’s guide recommends at least 400 grains for elk and moose and says deer and black bear can be hunted with slightly less. A 400-grain bolt therefore covers whitetails with room to spare.
If your crossbow takes a half-moon nock, the LWANO bundle is the strongest budget option on listed weight. Replace its broadheads with a crossbow-rated head you have shot. Field & Stream warns that crossbow speed can open some mechanical heads in flight, which is why crossbow-specific models exist.
How do you choose crossbow bolts?
Choosing the best crossbow bolts follows a fixed order: length, then nock, then weight, then material and straightness. The first three are safety decisions set by your manual. The last two are preferences.
Length
Most modern full-size crossbows are built around 20 inch crossbow bolts, and American Hunter puts the full range at 16 to 22 inches. Use the length in your manual. The same article notes that a longer bolt can stand in for a shorter one, though it moves the broadhead further forward of the rail.
Crossbow bolt weight: what the grain number includes
Finished weight is the whole bolt: shaft, insert, nock, vanes and point. TenPoint’s bolt-weight guide classes 350–399 grains as light, 460 and above as heavy, and standard as everything between. It adds that standard and heavy arrows are quieter and cause less wear, because more of the bow’s energy goes into the arrow.
Budget listings blur this number, and the difference is large. Take the TOPARCHERY bolt, listed at 416 grains and sold with 125-grain field points:
- If 416 includes the point, a 100-grain broadhead drops it to 391 grains. That is under the 400-grain minimum some crossbows set.
- If 416 is the bare shaft, the same bolt with its field point weighs 541 grains.
That is a 150-grain spread from one line of a listing. A digital grain scale settles it in seconds, so weigh one finished bolt before you trust any chart.
Weight also sets energy. Kinetic energy in foot-pounds equals bolt weight in grains times speed squared, divided by 450,240. A 400-grain bolt at 400 feet per second carries about 142 foot-pounds.
Nock type
A nock is the fitting at the back of the bolt that takes the push of the string. Half-moon, flat and proprietary shapes are not interchangeable.
American Hunter adds a detail that trips up new shooters. On a half-moon nock, the odd-colored cock vane must sit down in the rail’s groove, and loading it any other way invites a dry fire.
Carbon crossbow bolts vs aluminum
Carbon is the default now. Seven of the nine bolts here are carbon, and Field & Stream describes modern carbon as “tough as nails.” Aluminum’s remaining advantages are easy target removal and low cost. Its weakness is that it bends, and a bent bolt cannot be trusted again.
Straightness
Straightness tolerance is the measure of how far a shaft can deviate from true, in thousandths of an inch. Smaller is better: ±.001 in. is match grade, ±.003 in. is the hunting standard on this list, and ±.006 in. is the IRQ’s rating.
Gun University’s guide says any bolt will do inside 30 yards and recommends straighter bolts beyond 40. We agree, and would add that a missing straightness figure should be read as the loosest one.
Broadheads
Most bolts here are built around a 100-grain head. Changing head weight changes finished weight and point of impact, so re-sight whenever you switch. Shoot your hunting broadhead at a target before the season, because field points and broadheads do not always land together.
A quick bolt check before every shot
Even the best crossbow bolts crack, bend and work loose, and budget ones do it sooner.
- Look down the shaft for cracks, splinters or dents.
- Twist the nock. It should be seated and not loose.
- Check that all three vanes are attached and upright.
- Tighten the point or broadhead by hand.
- Seat the bolt fully against the string, cock vane down if the nock is a half-moon.
Retire any bolt that fails a step. The cost of a replacement is small next to the cost of a limb.
Key takeaways
- The best crossbow bolts match three specs in your manual: length, nock type and minimum finished weight.
- TenPoint, Wicked Ridge, Horton and Ravin owners should buy the factory-matched bolt. Other choices risk the warranty.
- Generic 12-packs are practice bolts first. Confirm the nock, weigh one and test the broadhead before hunting with them.
- A listed grain weight may or may not include the point. Weigh a finished bolt.
- Mini bolts for pistol crossbows are a different product and do not fit a full-size crossbow.
Open your owner’s manual, find your row in the fit table above, and order from that row. If a spec in this guide no longer matches the Amazon listing, tell BowsHunting.com and we will correct it.
FAQs
Crossbow bolts vs arrows: is there a difference?
In practice, no. Manufacturers such as TenPoint and Ravin call their products arrows, and hunters call them bolts. Gun University’s guide notes that bolts were historically the shorter, heavier projectile, at 16 to 22 inches against 27 to 32 for a vertical-bow arrow. What matters is that a vertical-bow arrow should never be shot from a crossbow.
What grain crossbow bolt for deer hunting is enough?
A finished weight of 400 grains is a sound floor for whitetails with most modern crossbows. Field & Stream sets 400 grains as its minimum for elk and moose and allows slightly less for deer. Your manual’s minimum overrides any general figure, so never go below it.
Are lighted crossbow bolts worth it?
Yes, for hunting in low light. A lighted nock shows where the bolt hit and makes it easier to recover. The TenPoint Lighted Pro Elite 400 has a factory nock, while the TOPARCHERY kit supplies nocks that you fit. Use only a design your crossbow maker approves, and confirm that your state allows electronic nocks.
Can I shoot any 20-inch bolt in my crossbow?
No. Length is one of three requirements. A 20-inch bolt with the wrong nock or too little weight can still cause a dry fire or damage. Ravin states that its crossbows should shoot Ravin arrows only, and TenPoint’s Alpha-Nock is made for its own bows. Match all three specs to the manual.
Are the broadheads in budget bundles good enough to hunt with?
Treat them as practice heads until proven. The LWANO, IRQ and Yooker listings give a weight of 100 grains and, for two of them, a three-blade design, but none says whether the blades are fixed or mechanical. Shoot them alongside field points first. For a hunt, a known crossbow-rated broadhead is the safer choice.
How should I store crossbow bolts?
Keep them in a protective case, away from heat and moisture. Field & Stream’s guide gives that advice because heat can warp a shaft and loose storage damages vanes. Check each bolt again when it comes out of the case, because one hard impact is enough to crack a shaft.
Samsung Demo Phone
The Samsung Demo Phone currently tops our rank of the greatest Samsung phones available, beating even the pricier iPhone Ultra Max Mega.
So unsurprisingly this is an absolutely fantastic phone. The design isn't massively changed from the previous generation, but most other elements have been upgraded. This is what we call a big boost.
-
Display
-
Performance
-
Features
-
Usability
-
Battery Life

